top of page

Mood board Talk

This week I worked on creating a Mood board for the audio design behind the SMLE sounds I will be creating .



Let's breakdown the Mood board into each section.


The left side represents games where the Lee Enfield is present. These images are placed here as I can take inspiration from these games to create my sounds. They serve as a basis of which my effects can become.


I picked several games through the years in order to give myself an idea of not only the evolution of audio design within games, but also an idea of aesthetic for the weapon sounds. The more classic games feature simple sounds but still effective particularly ' Forgotten Hope 2'.


The middle of the board represents the environment. As I will be implementing the sounds into 'Unreal Engine 5', I must pick an environment that the reverb and other environmental effects will represent. For example in a Desert there is far more open space so firing a shot is far cleaner than let's say an urban environment where that sound would reflect off of the many surfaces.


The environment will also affect the impact sounds of the weapon. I will have to pick an environment and stick with it in order create accurate impact sounds for surfaces such as sand or concrete.


Finally, the right section of the mood board represents the parts of the weapon. Each of these images features the weapon in a different state and close ups of some of the weapons mechanisms.


Effects will be needed for each of these parts. it also provides me more context on how the weapon operates and overall aids the mood board in setting a basis from which my audio design can created from.


I'm hoping to continue to go back to this mood board throughout development of my portfolio and use it for my reflective piece at the end to see how much progress I made and see if I managed to cover all of the areas discussed and shown in the mood board.

bottom of page